PDA

View Full Version : Feuds with School Leaders

Chieng Vui Leng
14th October 2005, 11:54 PM
This is a long story, and I am seeking opinions from you.

A bit of a background here: I am Malaysian, but I studied in Singapore since I was 7. I attended the Anglo-Chinese School, which consists of 5 units: 2 Primary Schools, ACS(Junior) and ACS(Primary); 2 Secondary Schools, ACS(Barker Road) and ACS(Independent); and a college, Anglo-Chinese Junior College.

I studied in ACS(Primary) from 1995 to 2000, followed by ACS(Independent) from 2001 to 2004, and after that came to Australia to continue my studies.

I am writing about Mr Peter Tan, the principal of Anglo-Chinese School (Junior). I have been having conflicts with him and his Vice-Principal, Miss Bok Hai Choo, since last year.

I used to know Mr Tan well - I was actually from ACS(Primary), not ACS(Junior), but I do know quite a few teachers there - I first visited ACS(J) in 2002 on hearing that Mr Chandrajit Yadav (who taught me at ACS(P) as a trainee teacher in 1999) was teaching there. Through Mr Yadav, I got to know many other teachers there. I also met Mr Tan, who was very friendly, and he even told me that I had "grown taller" on a subsequent visit, which is the highest compliment anyone can pay me.

What soured our relationship occurred the following year - I could not get along with some of my neighbours and my Mum warned me, saying that they may complain to my school. I decided to strike first by complaining to their school, which was ACS(J). However, Mr Tan was very rude about it and told me "as long as the incident in question takes place outside school, we have no control over it." Take note of this statement, more on that later.

Besides, the receptionists were very rude and unfriendly too. There were many other ex-students visiting, and they allowed them to stay but kept asking me to leave. I know I am technically not an ex-student of ACS(J), but it is still ACS, isn't it?