PDA

View Full Version : best laptop for your buck?

Katie
14th April 2006, 11:27 PM
my mom's about to start shopping for my graduation present, a laptop, (she loves to surprise, you see) but has no idea what she's looking for. other than "cheap and good."
I don't know anything about laptops, I know that the better/cheaper computers are generally built by a comp-smart friend or dad or something, but I've never heard of one building their own laptop.
I have zero experience with the things, my family's never owned one, and I had one friend in 6th grade with one she used only sometimes. yay.
since it's for college, I'd like it to be pretty carry-around-able. and somewhere to plug in a real mouse, I hate those finger-rubbing things they come with 8(

all suggestions welcome, thanks :)

youdontknowme
15th April 2006, 04:35 PM
I hate those finger-rubbing things they come with 8(
what about touchpad? :p

My thoughts:
-Get a Pentium M or AMD Turion.
-512mb+ ram
-screen size and hard drive size depends on your preference
-internal wireless adapter might be nice. :)

Try looking into dell or hp notebooks.

mr_pikachu
16th April 2006, 10:21 PM
I'm no expert on smart computer shopping, to be frank. But if you want to use your laptop to get on the internet, try to find out if there's a WiFi network near you. (Many places like coffee shops, fast food restaurants, college campuses, and even libraries are beginning to set up WiFi systems.) If there is, a wireless adapter will be all the more useful.

Sceptile_Master
17th April 2006, 04:19 PM
iBooks aren't too bad. That's if your going for a cheap laptop which you seem to be doing so, therefore I recommend an iBook. Then get a wireless mighty mouse. You'll be loving it. Plus they are pretty small. Easy to carry around and stuff. I just like them. They have built in wireless, 512mb ram, and the very stable G4 processors.

youdontknowme
18th April 2006, 08:10 PM
iBooks aren't too bad.
Ah, forgot all about Apple!