PDA

View Full Version : BitTorrent

Silencer
18th April 2006, 01:06 PM
I downloaded some torrent files that seem useful (nothing illegal, I assure you) but when I try to use bittorrent I can't seem to upload it.

I said open torrent file.
Selected the file I downloaded
I can see the name above the status bar
In the bar it says 0,0% done, ? remaining
then uploadratio and download speed both on 0

I can ask for information but that's it?

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong or what could be wrong?

PS I'm a complete torrent noob

Knight of Time
18th April 2006, 01:51 PM
Hmm, I'm getting used to torrent files as well, Silencer, so I can help you.

If you're downloading something from a torrent file using a program that can open the torrents, just be patient. Some things can take a while to be able to be reached from a torrent program. Just give it time.

Chris
18th April 2006, 01:52 PM
What client are you using?

Silencer
18th April 2006, 11:42 PM
I'm using BitTorrent 4.4.1 on a Windows XP pro.

Should placing the torrents in C:\Program Files\BitTorrent\some map help speeding up the process?

Dark-San
19th April 2006, 06:28 AM
[b][size=3] Check a few things,

1) Is the torrent dead? (Which means no seeds?)
2) Are you behind a firewall or other security features?

Silencer
19th April 2006, 06:49 AM
How can you check if there are seeds available?

Dark-San
19th April 2006, 07:59 AM
[b][size=3] I'm not so sure if the generic BitTorrent programs shows you the seeds. I would strongly recommend you to go for either u torrent or even Bit Comet. Both will show you the seeds and peers.

Andrew
29th April 2006, 08:54 PM
http://www.torrentportal.com/details/97776/Daria_Season_5.3354931.TPB.torrent.html

I'm having trouble with that torrent, could someone help me with that one. I'm using BitComet...

phaedrus
29th April 2006, 09:22 PM
BitTornado also does pretty well.

Andrew
29th April 2006, 09:56 PM
That doesn't really answer my question...