PDA

View Full Version : Help with choosing pokemon for Pearl

Zallarion
6th August 2007, 10:08 AM
finally.. i got pearl..

i started playing with with piplup (now in it's second form)
i caught a shinx(als in it's second form..)
i caught a geodude for rock smash, HM poke.. don't use him in my team..

So i got 4 empty spaces in my team.. i'm at the point that i just beat' galactic commander 1..

so please help me=D

N2KOT

Poryhedron
6th August 2007, 10:17 AM
How many HMers are you comfortable with having at once? I typically go with two...I ask because Psyduck can be found in the deeper parts of Oreburgh Gate without the need to fish or Surf, and Psyduck are compatible with a surprising range of HMs and other out-of-battle TMs.

Zallarion
6th August 2007, 10:19 AM
2 i guess.. but i don't want more then one unless i need more..

Any other suggestions?

PNT510
6th August 2007, 03:36 PM
Bidoof is a good HM slave. It can learn everything but fly and defog I think.

Zallarion
7th August 2007, 08:02 AM
Okay.. and i was thinking(with a little help from porhyredon) about a drifloon?

Toxicity
9th August 2007, 10:15 AM
Bidoof and Drifloon are probably the best picks if you only need two HM Slaves and not sacrifice move slots on your main team, although it's best you evolve both to be able to learn all of the HM moves.

Bibarel can learn all but Fly and Defog, and Drifblim can learn both of those, as well as Cut. Best bet is to teach Drifblim all three it can learn, and then teach Bibarel Strength, Rock Smash, Rock Climb, and Surf or Waterfall.

It doesn't really matter which water move you teach Bibarel, but it's best that you teach the other to Prinplup, to also get the infamous STAB (same type attack boost) in battle. Waterfall is for more physical-based offense, while Surf is special-based, so you might want to consider your Prinplup's nature and characteristic before making up your mind.

Hope that helps. Also, sorry if I confused you any.

Zallarion