PDA

View Full Version : untitled by anonymous (not pokemon)

Madelyn151
10th April 2003, 03:29 PM
believe it or not, this didn't happen to me (or anybody else, for that matter). i just felt the need to write it. so, yeah, tell me what you think.

Untitled by Anonymous
by me

I was a freshman when it happened. I was in eighth grade. I was a sophomore, a junior, a senior. I had graduated already. I guess what I’m trying to say is that it doesn’t matter when it happened. All that matters is that it did, a significant little blip on the long, flat line that’s my monotonous life. It’s a moment in time that’s frozen, a videotape stuck in an eternal loop. It hurts to watch, but I have to do it.

I walk into the party. It’s a dark little house, the kind that would be totally silent if not for the stereo, playing a choppy mix of songs. The song changes every thirty seconds, leaving me frustrated and unsatisfied whenever a good one comes on. People are just sitting around a table, cans of beer or cups in their hands. I’m shocked by how much I immediately feel awkwardness wash over me in a warm wave, but I’m more entranced by how big the beer cans are. Stupid little things occupy my time. I search desperately for somebody I can talk to.
“Yay! You’re here!” My friend, perched on the edge of a sofa, is smiling up at me. “My ride ***** is here!”