PDA

View Full Version : What nicknames have you given to your Pokemon?

Mr. Brightside
23rd February 2010, 02:31 PM
If you have. I have named my Staravia Elvis and the Unown D Darius. I decided to name all of the Unowns according to their letter.

Is it bad that i want a Zoroark just so that i can name it Lola? XDD

Telume
23rd February 2010, 04:13 PM
I named my Espeon Azeri. Means 'fox' in Basque. Looks nothing like a fox I know but, I was going by the way Eevee looks and the name kinda stuck.

I also named my Toterra Risolu which is based off the Italian word 'risoluto' which means resolute.

I put a lot of thought into some of my names.

PancaKe
23rd February 2010, 11:53 PM
I go through phases. Sometimes i name them after fruits, sometimes after friends, sometimes after characters in books or radio dj's on channels, or tv personalities, and sometimes I just name them stupid things, like toilet or ding dong. But when I started playing Diamond I didn't want to nickname them because then I woudln't know what pokemon they were :D so yeah.

classy_cat18
24th February 2010, 12:42 AM
I try everything. Japanese and English names are the norm, but I've also done Spanish (El Rey, my Empoleon). Names from mythology (Circe, Merlin, Morgan are all psychic). Silly names (Snoozy). Names of disasters (Tsunami, Sirocco). Oh, and names from video games (Stryker's my favorite).

Austrian ViceMaster Alex
24th February 2010, 02:16 AM
I barely ever give my Pokémon names, that's due to the R/B/Y series having so few different character selection screen images that I never knew which Pokémon when only seeing its nickname. I just game them regular first names then.

I tried giving them nicknames again in R/S. The only two I remember where "Trottelbär" (which is German for "stupid bear") for my Spinda and "Bockerl" (which is Viennese slang for an open, round pine cone) for my Seedot.

MeLoVeGhOsTs
24th February 2010, 08:59 AM