PDA

View Full Version : crossXroads

Magmar
25th August 2011, 11:50 AM
Hey guys,
Just need some quick advice. I'm in a pickle.

I'm finally up for a promotion at my job. I've been working here for over 3 years and am really dedicated to the company. I really do enjoy working for the brand I work for and my coworkers are, for the first time since I started working there, a team of absolutely amazing, trustworthy individuals who I can rely on. It's a very tough company to get a job for as they are very selective, so they compensate their gallery managers quite well.

Butttt...

My roommate is the grad assistant at the MBA office where I am starting grad school on the 6th. She is entering her 2nd year and just found a full-time job where she can vacate this position and still afford to pay her tuition. She is talking to her boss to try to see if I can take her spot because, well, if you are a Grad assistant, you don't have to pay tuition...

Being a grad assistant will make me $750 a month plus free tuition. Also the director of the MBA program is the professor with whom I will most likely be working with on my thesis in fall 2012. It would be great to get to know her and see how we can work together. This is definitely a long-term success path.

Being the manager of the gallery would be salaried and certainly compensate me quite well in the short-term. Also being the manager of a $3 million/yr (but I didn't tell you!) store looks quite good on a resume... But I would still have to take out the loans because I can't cover my tuition in the short-term.

I could take out a bit of loans and take on the GA job, being able to not only comfortably live with what my expenses actually amount to, but... I'd only be working Tuesday and Thursday 9-5 and every other Friday 9-5. I could have a much better lifestyle than the 40+ hours a week including nights and weekends I have at my current job.