PDA

View Full Version : forkYroad

shazza
14th September 2011, 06:21 AM
Help me decide my life, TPM! I'm having yet another quarter life existential crisis! Thanks, Barry. :)

I completed my degree majoring in Politics and Sociology (in before Arts jibes), and since then have had vocation difficulties. I’ve been the editor of a newly launched, youth magazine since October of last year. And I gained full time employment in January of 2011, which concluded last month due to differences – the crux being I was paid as a contractor rather than a full time employee.

Today I applied to do a Graduate Diploma in Counselling at the Australian College of Applied Psychology. To console someone would be an awarding career for me, as I have a natural ability to listen and help those that are having personal difficulties. But, I also have had an affinity – especially of recent – in the academia side of things. I enjoy theories and research as well as the clinical side of things; the counselling degree I applied for, however, is solely focused on being practical.

From my understanding, if I wish to study psychology at a later time of my life, I cannot use the Counselling degree as previous credentials and would essentially have to start scratch; they’re officially mutually exclusive, despite exhibiting many similarities.

I did my degree initially with the idea of working in a Government agency or the Public Service; perhaps working for a local member of Parliament. But as I get older, the facade of Australian politics is killing all my initial passion to get into it as a career. I wouldn’t say no to working in some form of entry level public service job while I’m studying this counselling course, however. Ultimately I’d love to be a writer (such as a book or a television show), but I don’t really want to put all my eggs into one basket with that one.