PDA

View Full Version : Which Pokemon attacks do you dislike?

CaptainJigglypuff
28th June 2013, 05:42 AM
As a Pokemon trainer, I'm sure no one really has ever liked the idea of Splash but what other attacks do you not like? For me I've always hated Selfdestruct, Explosion, Thunder Wave, Protect, and Detect. I personally enjoy attacks that cause damage but I hate the idea of a Pokemon blowing itself up and THEN leaving you vulnerable to a loss especially if the computer or your opponent sends out a Pokemon you KNOW would have be taken care of easily IF you nhadn't let your Pokemon explode. I grealy dislike Detect, Protect, and Thunder Wave because of how OVERUSED they are. It almost as if every other attack is Portect and Detect and not all of us like to carry around 999 status healing items! In fact I've NEVER use TM 73 since hunder Wave returned as a TM! I didn't even use he TUTOR in FR/LG. So which attacks are pretty much hated for you?

Magmar
28th June 2013, 08:56 AM
I can't say that any particular moves ever bothered me, but speaking as the resident old fart of TPM, I'll talk about the perceived inequity of certain moves--I wasn't a big fan of the first elementally-relevant moves given to the original starters. Ember was useful in that it might burn the opponent, and Bubble, while kind of useful in regards to the fact that it has a small chance of lowering Speed, was much weaker. But Vine Whip, which was sort of a happy medium, only got 10 PP, which made grinding with Bulbasaur and Bellsprout tricky as they quickly ran out of PP--especially Bellsprout, which wouldn't learn another Grass-type move for quite a while. It's like, yeah, Bellsprout eventually learns Razor Leaf, and you could always teach it Mega Drain halfway through the game, but Razor Leaf has more PP than Mega Drain and Vine Whip combined, frequently critically hits, etc.