PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on New Gamecube

classy_cat18
14th May 2003, 04:42 PM
I'm not good at posting links like the others, but I read on Nintendo.com and IGN.com that Nintendo's planning on launching the new console at the same time that Sony launches theirs. If they do that it means that the Gamecube will have a shorter lifespan than the Nintendo 64 did. Thoughts on this?

Kokomo
14th May 2003, 04:55 PM
The only reason that Sony's winning the console race is cause they had such a big lead over Nintendo. (Yea, and Microsoft but I hate them so I won't really talk about them.) If Nintendo wants to stand a chance next time than there going to have to release their next system when Sony does.

Sure it shortens life of GC, and I love my GC but were all going to have to live with it. :( Well in the time we have left theres going to be plenty of great games for GC; can't wait.:D

classy_cat18
14th May 2003, 05:10 PM
I wonder if it will backwards compatibility like the PS2 has. I love my Gamecube with all of my heart, but I'm just wondering.

Kokomo
14th May 2003, 05:14 PM
Being backwards compatible will definately be an awesome thing, and it'll help sell the next system. It will have a ton of games instead of just the launch titles. Another reason why PS2 has done so well is that at its release people could still play all their old games.

Ultarius
14th May 2003, 08:35 PM
When did Sony ever announce their next console? I read something on Gamespot from E3 about a portable thing Sony is releasing in Q4 2004, but nothing yet about PS3.

classy_cat18
14th May 2003, 08:53 PM
From what I've heard, the PS3 is coming out probably somewhere in late 2005 or 2006.

The Muffin Man
15th May 2003, 08:24 AM
...Sony dares step foot in the portable races? Nintendo has dominated it for so long they are a force that will EAT YOUR CHILDREN if you dare screw with the Gameboy.

classy_cat18
15th May 2003, 11:06 AM