PDA

View Full Version : [RBY] Tactics?

Bob54321
4th July 2003, 10:32 AM
I'm trying to write a program that actually challanges the human opponent in a pokemon battle and have decided to start at RBY battles. The only problem is I'm not very good at RBY so I need some tatic advice. So far I have these general rules:

1) Switch pokemon if it is facing a type disadvantage - so far just considers pokemon type but I am slowly working in "expected moves" and moves observed during game play.

2) If your pokemon has low health and a recovery move use it.

3) If you have a status changing (PAR, SLP, PSN) move and the opponents pokemon has not status ailment use it.

4) If you have high health and stat increasers use them.

5) If one of your pokemons moves is more "effective" against the other pokemon use it - currently based on attack charts, not average damage done or .

6) If your pokemon has low health and a finishing move (Self Destruct, Explosion) use it.

3 and 4 are overridden in cases when another move could faint the opposing pokemon.

Any comments on these would be helpful. Also suggestions to what clauses should be used - so far I have the FRZ clause and Kamakaze clause. I am thinking about adding the sleep clause but I'm using Stadiums sleep formula so only 1-4 turns sleeping instead of 1-8, so I'm not sure if it is really necessary.

Finally - does the use of minimise double the effectiveness of stomp and similary with dig/earthquake as it does in GSC???

kg959
7th July 2003, 08:50 PM
The ones you've got are good.

I was thinking that you could have the computer consider the chance of a critical hit in moves with high critical hit averages and use let's say Slash over Take down because it has a chance of doing double damage.

You need the computer to only use moves that give you recoil damage when it is at high health.

The computer needs to know to use moves like explosion or selfdestruct if it cannot heal and is at low health.