PDA

View Full Version : College, anyone?

GirlRepellant
1st April 2004, 07:06 PM
Hey all. I was just curious how many people are in college or close to it here. I'm a freshman at the University of Minnesota, majoring in Genetics, Cell Biology and Development. Where do people here go to school, what are they studying, etc.

Little_Pikachu
1st April 2004, 07:15 PM
College, been there done that. I'm in University now. University of Northumbria doing information and communication management.

Hikaru
1st April 2004, 07:21 PM
In America, you attend high school until you're 17 or 18, then "college" for anywhere from 2 to 10 years, depending on degree. So American College is similar to England's Uni's, no?

EDIT: Made it readable >_<

GirlRepellant
1st April 2004, 07:22 PM
Wait, how are college and university different? Do you mean you're doing your graduate work now?

Little_Pikachu
1st April 2004, 07:37 PM
High school until 16, then either sixth form in school or go to college and do some course to help you get into uni, usually until 18, 19 or 20, then go to uni for degrees and the like.

College and uni are quite different things here.

Razola
1st April 2004, 07:42 PM
Basically, in Europe College is similar to the US ( and maybe Candian) University, and University in Europe is similar to Graduate School in North America.

Roarkiller
1st April 2004, 09:29 PM
In Singapore:

- Frm age of 7, 6yrs in primary school (Shougakkou, junior high)
- Frm 13, 4 to 5yrs in secondary school (Chuugakkou, high school)
- Continue either in Institute of Technology Education (ITE), Polytechnic, Centralised Institute or Junior College (where i was from).

|
-> Detour for guys: I'm past all those, and since im a guy, 2.5 yrs in the army.

- University or polytechnic (ur choice), otherwise or after that, working life.

The Rusted One
1st April 2004, 10:56 PM