PDA

View Full Version : TWL Awareness

Darien Shields
16th August 2004, 01:01 AM
I was talking with a bunch of AIM contacts recently, and was shocked at how some people don't visit The Writer's Lounge. I think it's a great place, and even readers should feel welcome (Especially since we sometimes want to poll them), but apparantly some just don't even seem to know it exists.

Any ideas on how to imrpove TWL (The Writer's Lounge) awareness? Advertising maybe? It'd be a bit weird if we all put "Come to the Writer's Lounge" things in our sigs... I wonder if that would work though?

mistysakura
16th August 2004, 06:22 AM
How can people not know about the Writers' Lounge? That's just weird. Anyway, when I was a newbie, I never went to the writers' lounge because I thought the stuff in it was relevant to writers only. If we want to do something about the unawareness, I suggest we change the Writers' Lounge's name to something more universal.

P.S. Kinda ironic that the only people who'll se this poll are those who visit the Lounge anyway.

Chris 2.1
16th August 2004, 07:36 AM
Well the description does make it seem like this is a place for writers 'if you need help with a fanfic or overcoming writers block' or something like that: To many, TWL would appear as a Help section for Fanfic Writers.

Still, we don't have many things for non-writers. The POTW generally tries to lure non-writers, with questions such as favourite genre to read, which applies to anybody.

Also, I've set up a few things to bring people here: The Openings/endings topic is around here somewhere, the cast, the Fanfic Trailers...these are things a fan of a Fanfic could check and get into a fic more.

But hey, at the end of the day, they're missing out :P

As for the poll: I come daily. There's usually something nifty around here.

Dragonfree
16th August 2004, 07:50 AM
Daily at least. Every time I visit TPM, I go right to FanFiction, then Writer's Lounge. Always.

Whisper in the Wind