Really, the DCI rules on Wizards' site is the best bet. You can also look up individual card rulings on the site. StarcityGames also has a similar feature.
Does anyone here know where I can get a full list of the MTG rules? And I don't mean the crappy Adobe Acrobat version that wizards of the coast has. It is of no help. It's kinda.. blah. I need the specific rules. So.. Anyone know a place?I need them to refer to once in awhile because Jamey (former mod of Other Anime I think) and I always have disputes over the rules.
~SR
Original Knight of I.N.D.E.E.D.
Really, the DCI rules on Wizards' site is the best bet. You can also look up individual card rulings on the site. StarcityGames also has a similar feature.
I was referring to the 70+ page acrobat reader download that I found. I couldn't find anything else.
~SR
Original Knight of I.N.D.E.E.D.
Basic Rulebook
This is what you get in an 8th Edition starter box. If this isn't what you're looking for, then just ask me your problem. I should be able to answer it.
Ok, Raz, I've got a question for you. If I have, say, a Wellwisher untapped, and my opponent attacks with something that Wellwisher can block, can I declare Wellwisher a blocker, and then tap it for it's effect? Would the attacking creature remain blocked?
Also, if it's forced to block by a creature with Provoke, can I tap my creture in response to the attack (before declaring blockers) to make the block illegal (and prevent it)?
Do you have links to 'official' sorces supporting either of those? I don't think that people will take my word for it without proof.
Thanks in advance.
When a creature is blocking, as long as it is untapped, you may tap it to pay for abilities after the declare blockers step. Being a 1/1, in most cases you'll have to do it before combat damage resolves (provided wellwisher won't survive combat). So yes you can, and the block is still legal.
In scenario two, Provoke forces a target creature to block, If the creature is tapped, it untaps and must block. If such a thing is done to a creature with an ability that can tap itself, provoke is only good news for you. In response to the provoke you can tap wellwisher. Then the provoke resolves and you can then tap her again. Since you are tapped, you are now an illegal blocker and provoke basically fails to do anything but give you two uses of that ability.
Proof of the 2nd Question.
The first is a very basic rule. As long as the creature doesn;t have summoning sickness you can tap it to pay for abilities after it has blocked a creature.
Thanks, Raz. I'll check it out. Sorry I'm a bit late at responding, but I kinda forgot about posting this, heheheh...
~SR
Original Knight of I.N.D.E.E.D.